De ProfundisThe 130th Psalm for speaking choir, mixed choir and organ

 

Instrumentation

  • mixed choir
  • speaking choir
  • organ
  • solo tenor ad libitum

The 130th Psalm (Vulgata: 129th Psalm) belongs to the six penitential psalms and has often been set in notes.

The present work begins with a loud, exalted sound of the organ in order to plunge into the depths with this sound. The basses of the choir call from the depths and – in the sense of the word – the chorus of speech.

The Domine, exaudi vocem meam is an extensive choir joint, the consequences of which are intensified and thus lend emphasis to the reputation of listen to my voice.

Homophone passages in the character of the Gregorian chorale follow. Sounds are shifted in the same way.

The text suddenly turns to the spatial dimension – a custodia matutina usque ad noctem … (from dawn to night). More extensive solo passages of the organ with a few casts of the choir clarify this shift.

Among the songs of Gregorianism there is a de profundis – this may be surprising – with alleluia in front. The et ipse redimet Israël (he will redeem Israel) transforms into et ipse ridemet (he has redeemed) with cheering Hallelujah of both choirs on virtuoso organ passages.

Libretto

(Canticum graduum.) De profundis clamavi ad te, Domine; Domine, exaudi vocem meam. Fiant aures tuæ intendentes in vocem deprecationis meæ. Si iniquitates observaveris, Domine, Domine, quis sustinebit? Quia apud te propitiatio est; et propter legem tuam sustinui te, Domine. Sustinuit anima mea in verbo ejus; speravit anima mea in Domino. A custodia matutina usque ad noctem, speret Israël in Domino; quia apud Dominum misericordia, et copiosa apud eum redemptio. Et ipse redimet/ridemet Israël ex omnibus iniquitatibus eius. Alleluja!

Auf Deutsch lesen
Choir, Organ, Vocal music

De ProfundisDer 130. Psalm für Sprechchor, gemischten Chor und Orgel

 

Instrumentation

  • Gemischter Chor
  • Sprechchor
  • Orgel
  • Solotenor ad libitum

Der 130. Psalm (Vulgata: 129. Psalm) gehört zu den sechs Bußpsalmen und ist vielfach in Töne gesetzt worden.

Das vorliegende Werk beginnt mit einem lauten, exaltierten Klang der Orgel, um mit diesem Klang in die Tiefe abzustürzen. Aus der Tiefe rufen die Bässe des Chores und ruft – im Sinne des Wortes – der Sprechchor.

Das „Domine, exaudi vocem meam“ ist eine umfangreiche Chorfuge, deren Einsatzfolgen sich verdichten und so dem Ruf „erhöre meine Stimme“ Nachdruck verleihen.

Es folgen homophone Passagen im Charakter des gregorianischen Chorals. Klänge werden mixturartig verschoben.

Der räumlichen Dimension wendet sich der Text plötzlich der zeitlichen zu – „a custodia matutina usque ad noctem …“ („von der Morgenwache bis zur Nacht“). Umfangreichere Solopassagen der Orgel mit wenigen Einwürfen des Chors verdeutlichen diese Verschiebung.

Unter den Gesängen der Gregorianik findet sich ein De profundis – dies mag erstaunen – mit vorausgeschicktem Alleluja. Dieser Umstand inspirierte und prägt die Schlussphase des vorliegenden Werks: Das „et ipse redimet Israël“ („er wird Israel erlösen“) wandelt sich zu „et ipse ridemet“ („er hat erlöst“) mit jubelndem Halleluja beider Chöre bei virtuosen Orgelpassagen.

Libretto

(Canticum graduum.) De profundis clamavi ad te, Domine; Domine, exaudi vocem meam. Fiant aures tuæ intendentes in vocem deprecationis meæ. Si iniquitates observaveris, Domine, Domine, quis sustinebit? Quia apud te propitiatio est; et propter legem tuam sustinui te, Domine. Sustinuit anima mea in verbo ejus; speravit anima mea in Domino. A custodia matutina usque ad noctem, speret Israël in Domino; quia apud Dominum misericordia, et copiosa apud eum redemptio. Et ipse redimet/ridemet Israël ex omnibus iniquitatibus eius. Alleluja!

Read in English
Chor, Orgel, Vokalmusik